Limoncello Gin Fizz

The summer between my junior and senior year of college, I had the amazing privilege of studying abroad in Florence, Italy. If you ever have the chance to go, I highly recommend it. That summer (which was longer ago than I like to think about!), I first discovered limoncello, among Italy’s other wonders. Limoncello, just so we’re clear, is a lemon liqueur traditionally produced in Southern Italy. It makes light, just-sweet-enough summer cocktails. And thankfully, unlike lots of other Italian treasures, you can find limoncello in the U.S., just about anywhere that sells other liqueurs.

DSC_0612

This spring, whilst on the quest for a perfectly curated home bar, I rediscovered my love for limoncello. Although in Italy it’s usually consumed as an digestivo (after dinner drink) that’s allegedly meant to aid digestion, it works quite well in American-style cocktails too. Here’s my current favorite cocktail, which I like to pretend is totally original but is really very similar something you’ll find around the internet called a “lemon gin fizz.”

DSC_0633

Ingredients (makes 1 serving)

2 oz gin

3 oz limoncello

splash (approx. 1 oz) club soda

Directions

Glass + ice: I prefer this drink stirred, not shaken, although I don’t have a good scientific reason for it. For some reason, I think the sweetness of the limoncello comes through a little more when it hasn’t been shaken up. If you decide to follow my lead, you can skip using a shaker, and just start with a highball glass. Fill the glass about half of the way up with ice (if you’re using an 8 oz. glass).

Add the liquids: Dump them right on in! Club soda last, so you don’t spoil the fizz.

Now, stir. And enjoy!

DSC_0641

What do you think? Refreshing, isn’t it?

 

Leave a Reply

